The European environment agency


Courtesy of European Environment Agency (EEA)


The EEA aims to support sustainable development and to help achieve significant and measurable improvement in Europe’s environment, through the provision of timely, targeted, relevant and reliable information to policy-making agents and the public.


Membership of the EEA is comprised of EU Member States; it is also open to countries that are not Member States of the European Union. There are now 32 member countries: the 27 EU Member States together with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia have applied jointly for membership and have already been cooperating with the EEA for several years.

Clients and target groups

The EEA’s main stakeholders are the European Commission, the European Parliament, the Council of the European Union —
addressing in particular the needs of the changing EU presidencies — and the EEA member countries.

In addition to this core group of European and national policy actors, the EEA works with EU institutions including
the Economic and Social Committee, the Committee of the Regions, the European Investment Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development and the EU agencies. Outside the EU framework, the business community, academia, non‑governmental organisations and other parts of civil society are also important target groups.

The EEA aims to achieve a two‑way dialogue with its clients and target groups in order to identify their information needs
correctly and ensure that they can understand and use the information provided by the EEA.

Customer comments

No comments were found for The European environment agency. Be the first to comment!