ABC/13 women of distinction announced for 2011 winter ball


Eleven outstanding community volunteers have been named ABC/13 Women of Distinction and Ambassador for the 2011 Winter Ball, benefiting the Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA) Houston Gulf Coast/South Texas Chapter.

An ABC/13 News photographer and a contingent of friends and admirers staged a series of surprise announcements at various Houston venues for the Women of Distinction honorees: Susan Boggio, Jacqueline Chaumette, Lavonne Cox, Beth Madison, Judy Nyquist, Lisa Richardson, Kristi Schiller, S. Shawn Stephens, Pattie Dale Tye, Laura Ward and 2011 Ambassador Philamena Baird.

The Winter Ball, in its 24th year, is one of the premier social events in Houston, and the largest fundraiser for the CCFA Houston Gulf Coast/South Texas Chapter. Major sponsors include ABC/13, Saks Fifth Avenue and Emirates Airlines, along with CenterPoint Energy, Gittings, Locke Lord Bissell & Liddell, LLP, Momentum Jaguar, Northern Trust, and Tiffany & Co.

The Winter Ball, chaired by Jan Carson and Virginia Reisman, with Honorary Chair Mary Ann McKeithan, will be held on Saturday, January 22, 2011 at the Hilton-Americas Hotel Houston. All proceeds benefit critical research programs funded by CCFA to find a cure for debilitating digestive diseases. Celebrity guest Rolf Benirschke, former San Diego Charger's place-kicker and ulcerative colitis patient, is spokesman for CCFA's Great Comeback Awards Program.

Tickets for the 2011 Winter Ball start at $500 and tables are available starting at $5000 up to $50,000. For more information visit:, email:, or phone CCFA at: 713.572.2232.

Customer comments

No comments were found for ABC/13 women of distinction announced for 2011 winter ball. Be the first to comment!