Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA)

Air & Waste Management Association Announces 2007 Honors & Awards


Honorees Recognized at Annual Conference

The Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) has announced the winners of its 2007 Honors & Awards Program.

Established by the Association to recognize environmental professionals who serve as models for others to emulate, the A&WMA’s Honors & Awards Program acknowledges individuals and organizations for outstanding accomplishments in promoting a cleaner environment.

“The Air & Waste Management Association is proud to recognize these deserving individuals and companies for their enthusiasm and commitment to the environment,” said Adrianne Carolla, A&WMA Executive Director. “Their work is a sign that true progress has been made on many fronts to preserve and protect our environment.”

Award recipients for 2007 include:

Peter K. Mueller, Ph.D, of TropoChem in Palo Alto, CA, received the Frank A. Chambers Excellence in Air Pollution Control Award for widely recognized achievement in the science and art of air pollution abatement. Dr. Mueller was recognized for his participation in the conceptualization, design, and management of large-scale, multi-organizational air quality studies that have informed the regulatory process. He recently led several seminal studies that advanced the understanding of aerosols and visibility in the United States. Throughout his career, Dr. Mueller has contributed greatly to the science of characterizing aerosols.

Ross C. (Rocky) Anderson, Mayor of Salt Lake City, UT, received the Richard Beatty Mellon Environmental Stewardship Award for civic contributions that have aided substantially in pollution abatement. Mayor Anderson, a University of Utah and George Washington University Law School graduate, has been an outspoken advocate for protecting the environment since taking office in 2000. He committed Salt Lake City, in its municipal operations, to abide by the Kyoto Protocol, and implemented numerous programs to improve air quality and reduce emissions of global warming pollutants. Anderson was the only representative from the United States to consult with representatives from Group of 8 (G8) nations on climate change, in preparation for the 2005 G8 Summit.

Margo Tsirigotis Oge, Director of the Office of Transportation and Air Quality in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) Office of Air and Radiation, received the S. Smith Griswold Outstanding Air Pollution Control Official Award for outstanding accomplishments in the prevention and control of air pollution. Under Oge’s leadership, EPA finalized three of the United States’ most significant environmental accomplishments: the Tier 2 motor vehicle and gasoline sulfur program, the 2007 clean diesel truck, bus, and diesel fuel rule, and the clean off-road diesel engine and fuel program. A member of the EPA since 1980 and has held various management positions with the agency. Oge earned a Master’s degree in engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Lowell, and also attended George Washington University and the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

John D. Spengler, Ph.D., Akira Yamaguchi Professor of Environmental Health and Human Habitation, Harvard School of Public Health, received the Lyman A. Ripperton Environmental Educator Award for inspiring students to achieve excellence in their professional endeavors. Dr. Spengler was a member of the research team led by Dr. Benjamin Ferris that established the first large-scale, long-term air pollution health study in the United States – the Harvard Six Cities Study. The Six Cities Study, a landmark air pollution study in its advancement of exposure assessment and biostatistical methods, is still generating scientific insights relevant to the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for particulate matter. Dr. Spengler completed his Ph.D. in atmospheric sciences at the State University of New York at Albany. His research has contributed to the understanding of the role of indoor contaminants (e.g., mold, allergens, nitrogen dioxide, tobacco smoke, and polychlorinated biphenyls) on health.

Indigo Technologies, LLC of Pittsburgh received the J. Deane Sensenbaugh Environmental Technology Award for outstanding achievement in the fields of air pollution control or waste management by a company or individual. Indigo Technologies, LLC developed the Indigo Agglomerator to reduce emissions of fine particulate matter (PM2.5). The Indigo Agglomerator has been installed at six power stations worldwide, providing a significant improvement in electrostatic precipitator (ESP) performance that has proven consistent over time and a wide range of coals.

Harold M. (Hal) Cota, Ph.D., professor emeritus of environmental engineering, California State Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo, received the Charles W. Gruber Association Leadership Award for outstanding service through leadership positions, both internationally and locally, for the advancement of A&WMA. Dr. Cota holds a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, a Master’s degree in chemical engineering from Northwestern University, and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Oklahoma. Dr. Cota developed one of the first undergraduate environmental engineering programs in the Unites States after joining Cal Poly. He has been extensively involved with A&WMA for 38 years, holding leadership roles and serving on many committees and the Association’s Board of Directors.

Anheuser-Busch Inc.’s Baldwinsville, NY, brewery, received the Waste Management Award for outstanding technological achievement in waste management by a company or individual. The leading American brewer, Anheuser-Bush, through its corporate environmental stewardship program, improved the quality of its waste streams and established new vendor agreements for waste management. The Baldwinsville facility currently recycles and/or reuses approximately 99.97 percent of the waste it generates, including glass, metals, paper, plastic, wood, and spent grain.

Humberto Bravo Álvarez, Ph.D., senior researcher at the Center of Atmospheric Sciences, National University of Mexico, and head of the Environmental Pollution Section, and Richard A. Walli, P.Eng., DEE, head of Walli Engineering Inc. in Ontario, Canada, and environmental consultant both received A&WMA Honorary Membership, given to persons who have attained eminence in an environmental field or have rendered valuable service to the Association. Dr. Bravo received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the National University of Mexico and a Ph.D. degree in engineering from West Virginia University. His recent research efforts have been in the study of photochemical air pollution problems in several Mexican cities, the origin, transport, and effects of acid rain on Mayan monuments in Mexico, and the environmental effects of reformulated gasoline in Mexico. Walli earned a bachelor’s of science degree at the Michigan Technological University and a Master’s degree at Pennsylvania State University. Walli’s professional career includes the engineering, application and design of air pollution control equipment for equipment manufacturers, and developing equipment and processes to solve air pollution problems in the metallurgical industry.

For more information on the winners and the Honors & Awards Program, visit

The Air & Waste Management Association is a nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization that provides training, information, and networking opportunities to thousands of environmental professionals in 65 countries. For more information, visit

Customer comments

No comments were found for Air & Waste Management Association Announces 2007 Honors & Awards. Be the first to comment!