Apply for the 2014 WASH Media Awards before June 15


Are you a journalist covering water and sanitation issues? SIWI and the Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) now welcome entries for the 5th edition of the WASH Media Awards.

WASH Media Awards recognise and support the crucial role of the media in raising awareness of the importance of water, sanitation, and hygiene services (WASH). The award aims to help improve access to water and sanitation services by having a positive influence on politicians, business persons, civil society representatives, and individual citizens.


To be eligible, entries must be published or broadcast between: 15 June 2013 and 15 June 2014. Deadline for applications is June 15, 2014.


Journalists may submit a piece within the following themes:

  • Water and Energy
  • Equity and Inclusion in Water, Sanitation and Hygiene
  • Ending Open Defecation
  • The Human Right to Water and Sanitation
  • WASH in the Future: The Post-2015 Development Agenda
  • Monitoring WASH Commitments


Journalists may submit one piece of work using one of the following formats:

  • Print & Online
  • TV (including documentaries)
  • Radio
  • Published cartoons & photos

Prizes and Eligibility

Six prizes will be awarded, one for each of the themes identified above. Entries can come from any developing or middle-income country. Prize winners will receive a cash award and the opportunity to participate in the World Water Week in Stockholm – the world’s leading water event 31 August - 5 September 2014 as special guests of WSSCC and SIWI.


Submission is made through the WSSCC website where you can download the entry form. Submit your entry before June 15.

Customer comments

No comments were found for Apply for the 2014 WASH Media Awards before June 15. Be the first to comment!